Prayers Answered! Garth Brooks to Tour in 2014

Garth BrooksPhoto Courtesy of CBS

Last Friday, Good Morning America revealed Jason Derulo’s plans to bring his tour to the United States. Just a few days later The morning talk show has announced yet another World Tour from a music icon. Garth Brooks revealed to anchor Robin Roberts that he will embark on a World Tour before the year is out.

The country gentlemen didn’t plan on making the announcement but was evidently charmed into breaking the news through his friendship with Roberts. When he began to hint that he wanted to tour, Roberts kept prodding Brooks until he relented, saying, “You know what, since it’s you and since we’ve had a history forever, let’s announce it. We’re going on a world tour in 2014. I can’t believe I just did that but you are a doll.”

Brooks had expressed reservations about touring due to his age. He joked that he didn’t want to go on the stage in a wheelchair or walker. He also wanted the consent of his family before making the commitment, which he evidently has now. “All my babies are fine with it. Ms. [Trisha] Yearwood is fine with it. So now I get to do what I love to do, which is play music. I get to be with the person I want to be with, which is Ms. Yearwood.”

Our hats are off to Brooks for embarking in such an ambitious tour at the age of 52. As funny as his wheelchair comments were, doing a world tour at his age is no easy task. It’s this dedication to his fan base that has made him the best selling albums artist of all time.

Details are still hazy regarding dates and locations. Fortunately, Brooks will hold a press conference this Thursday at 12PM EDT/ 11AM CDT/ 9AM PDT. A live stream of the conference will be shown via his ominous website.