Drake Surprises with Three Brand New Tracks

Courtesy of edgecastcdn.net

Courtesy of edgecastcdn.net

Last night, Twitter was in a frenzy after Canadian rapper, Drake, spontaneously shared three brand new songs on his page. About an hour before sharing the tracks, he tweeted, “You should probably keep an eye on that ovosound.com in the next hour… just saying.” Each song, titled “How Bout Now,” “6 God,” and “Heat of the Moment,” was shared alongside artwork for what is rumored to be his next album release, Views From the 6.

The hip-hop artist apparently dropped the tracks somewhat strategically, in light of one of them having leaked on October 19th. That day, the track “How Bout Now” somehow managed to show up on a Georgia teenager’s Soundcloud account, and, according to Drake, it wasn’t the only one that managed to leave his estate. “That wasn’t an EP. Just 3 songs that I knew some hackers had. But enjoy! Back to this album,” he tweeted after sharing the songs.

Tracks “6 God” and “How Bout Now” were both produced by Boi-1da, a long time collaborator of Drake’s. The latter track was also worked on by Jordan Evans, and features a sample of “My Heart Belongs to U” by Jodeci. “Heat of the Moment,” produced by fellow Canadian, Noah “40” Shebib, is a much slower song, ending with a lengthy telephone conversation between the rapper and a man who advises Drake not to get caught up in the “heat of the moment.”

The name of his upcoming album, Views From the 6, is reportedly an ode to Toronto, Drake’s hometown. Despite the pride he seems to take in his origins, the rapper still manages to give shoutouts to Atlanta artists Usher, Ludacris, and 2 Chainz on his three latest tracks. Many claimed that Drake’s unexpected three-song release very much followed a popular trend that Beyonce seems to have ushered in at the beginning of this year, with the unannounced debut of her self-titled visual album. However, surprise releases are nothing new to the Toronto rapper. In 2011, before the release of his sophomore album, Take Care, he released tracks “Free Spirit,” featuring Rick Ross, and “Club Paradise” in the same way. Neither of those tracks managed to make it onto the album, so fans will just have to wait and see if “How Bout Now,” “6 God,” and “Heat of the Moment” share a similar fate.


Next Page
Written by