Jack White Purchases First Elvis Recording

Courtesy of erikgveld.wordpress.com
Courtesy of erikgveld.wordpress.com

Jack White has bought the first Elvis vinyl ever recorded by the King for a sum of $300,000, with plans to release it on Record Store Day on his label, Third Man Records. The seven-inch features Elvis covers of “My Happiness” and “That’s Where the Heartaches Begin.” The Marline Sisters and Shep Fields’ Rippling Rhythm originally preformed these ballads. Elvis recorded these on July 18th, 1953, at Memphis Recording Service owned by the boss of Sun Studios, Sam Phillips.

Elvis paid $3.98 for the studio and intended to give the record to his mother for a birthday present. Elvis went on to re-record “That’s Where the Heartaches Begin” on two other occasions, the first being the “Million Dollar Quartet” sessions in 1956 and then a year later as the B-side to “All Shook Up.” After becoming the B-side of the hit song, “That’s Where the Heartaches Begin” went on to be included in many Elvis compilations. The vinyl was left at the house of his friend, Ed Leek, where Elvis had to play the song for his mother since the Presley family did not own a record player at the time. This was then passed on to Leek’s niece, who in turn, contacted Graceland.

The Elvis album was originally expected to sell for three times less than the final amount, which White bid for anonymously. The acetate of the songs is the only one in existence and was no doubt touched by Elvis Presley himself. White is an avid vinyl collector, and he did admit the only place he does not listen to vinyl is in his car.

Jack White will headline this summer’s Coachella Festival along with AC/DC and Drake. Look for the release on Record Store Day, Saturday April 18th. This year’s official ambassador is Dave Grohl, so he is also likely to bring a release from the Foo Fighters or an unreleased Nirvana song. It has already been announced that this year’s Record Store Day will also feature releases by David Bowie, Metallica, Frank Sinatra, Mastodon, Slayer, Rick Ross, Killing Joke, Hawkwind, the Residents and Frank Zappa.

FDRMX Eyes: The Other People are comprised of four members and based in India. They have released their latest music video entitled, “So Damn Beautiful.”

[jwplatform M4U2hJxm-daFoP3nJ]