Fun.’s Nate Ruess to Receive Songwriting Award

Courtesy of Mito Habe-Evans /NPR
Courtesy of Mito Habe-Evans /NPR

Today it was announced that Nate Ruess of Fun. is set to receive the Hal David Starlight Award for his contributions to the songwriting world at this year’s Songwriters Hall of Fame induction ceremony. The Hal David Starlight Award, named after a previous chairman for the Songwriters Hall of Fame, was created in 2004 and is awarded to young writers who have created a legacy for themselves. Ruess was handpicked by the organization for his contributions to Fun. as well as to other artists.

Songwriters Hall of Fame president and CEO, Linda Moran, commented that Ruess “is a real force in pop music for today and the future.” She went on to compliment his lyrics for being “clever, warm, and accessible” and his music for being “sophisticated and memorable.” Ruess will join an impressive list of previous recipients including Taylor Swift, John Legend, Alicia Keys, Jason Mraz, and several other young artists.

Ruess has written and appeared on an impressive collection of tracks. As the frontman for Fun., he has topped the Billboard charts with anthemic hits such as “We Are Young,” “Some Nights” and “Carry On,” all of which he has received writing credits on.

After experiencing success with Fun., Ruess went on to work with artists such as Eminem, P!nk, and Kesha. In 2012, Ruess assisted Kesha, Dr. Luke, Benny Blanco, and Cirkut in the writing process for Kesha’s “Die Young,” which rocketed up to the number 2 spot on the Billboard 100. In 2013, the musician worked with P!nk on “Just Give Me a Reason,” both writing and singing on the track. After its release, the song peaked at the number 1 spot on the chart, earning the musician his first number 1 as a solo artist. Following the success of “Just Give Me a Reason,” Ruess was tapped to appear on Eminem’s “Headlights,” an emotional tribute to the rapper’s mother.

In 2014, the band announced that they would be embarking upon a temporary hiatus so that each member could pursue solo projects. With that news, Ruess began working on his first collection of music as a solo artist.  In February he released his first single “Nothing Without Love,” and he is expected to follow it up with a full-length album this summer.   

The Songwriters Hall of Fame ceremony is scheduled to take place on June 18th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. At the event, several other songwriters will be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of fame. The artists set to be inducted include Cyndi Lauper, Toby Keith, Linda Perry, Bobby Braddock, Willie Dixon, Robert Hunter, and Jerry Garcia.

FDRMX Eyes: Rock band Inventions has released a new music video for “Springworlds.” Comprised of Mark T. Smith and Matthew Cooper, Inventions’ follow-up record, Maze of Woods, is now available on iTunes.

[jwplatform jyL9ePZ5-daFoP3nJ]