2016 Soul Train Cruise Reveals Performers

Courtesy of smokeyrobinson.com

Courtesy of smokeyrobinson.com

The 2016 Soul Train Cruise will depart on January 30th, and it will run through February 6th. The cruise will feature some of R&B music’s most legendary artists including Smokey Robinson, Sheila E., Billy Ocean, the O’Jays, Howard Hewett, Atlantic Starr, Stephanie Mills, Deniece Williams, the Dramatics (featuring LJ Reynolds), The Whispers, and more. The event will be hosted by Tony Cornelius (son of Soul Train creator and host Don Cornelius), along with comedian Bill Bellamy and Doug E. Fresh. 

Soul Train, a music television show, was created by the late Don Cornelius in 1971. The program featured performances by R&B, disco, funk, jazz, gospel, and hip hop recording artists. Some of the artists to appear on Soul Train include The Jackson 5, Gladys Knight & the Pips, Patti LaBelle, Whitney Houston, Four Tops, Kirk Franklin, Boyz II Men, Aretha Franklin, Eric B. & Rakim, and countless others. The series’ infamous “Soul Train line” showcased the latest dances in music, and it became one of the most popular segments onSoul TrainSoul Train aired from 1971 until 2006, serving as the foundation for all music programming television shows. Programs like MTV’s Total Request Live (TRL) and BET’s 106 and Park, have all drawn inspiration from Soul TrainThe success of the television show spawned the Soul Train Awards, which first aired in 1987.

The iconic Janet Jackson holds the record for the most Soul Train Awards, with 13 awards. Jackson received the Album of the Year award several times for Control, Rhythm Nation 1814, janet., and The Velvet Rope. The legendary pop-R&B artist has also won a couple of Soul Train‘s “special achievement” awards. In 1992, Jackson received the Sammy Davis Jr. Entertainer of the Year Award, and she was honored with the Quincy Jones Award for Outstanding Career Achievements: Lifetime Achievement Award in 2004. 

Today, the Soul Train Awards’ ceremony is still being held. Last year’s awards show took place in Las Vegas (NV). The ceremony continues to honor the legacy of its creator and founder, Don Cornelius, who died of an apparent suicide on February 1, 2012. There has been speculations that Cornelius was suffering from the early onset of Alzheimer’s disease. 

FDRMX Eyes: Lirrika is comprised of Russian musicians Boris and Bratya Grim. The electronic project has released a music video entitled “I’d Rather Be Falling.”

[jwplatform AE8bxRHy-daFoP3nJ]

Next Page
Written by
Brillion Williams is an avid entertainment writer, particularly in the realm of music, sports, television, and film. Williams first started writing professionally as the founder and editor of Brillion-A-Million.