Danity Kane Members Form Duo Named Dumblonde

Courtesy of Dumblonde
Courtesy of Dumblonde

Former Danity Kane members Aubrey O’Day and Shannon Bex have formed a new duo called Dumblonde. O’Day and Bex made the announcement at the iHeartRadio Music Awards: “We went through ten years of Danity Kane to bring us to this point. We are so thankful for our past, and we are so excited about our future.”

Danity Kane has featured several different lineups. The original group was formed together by P. Diddy, and it consisted of O’Day, Bex, Dawn Richard, Aundrea Fimbres, and D. Woods. The pop group disbanded when D. Woods and O’Day were dismissed from Danity Kane. Richard went on to be a part of Diddy’s Dirty Money trio, but the group would later reconcile with all of the members except for Woods. Last year, Fimbres left the pop group, and Danity Kane continued on as a trio. Unfortunately, the trio was short lived after a physical altercation occurred. 

According to Dawn Richard, O’Day and Bex were secretly recording studio sessions without her. When Richard went to confront her group members about the recordings, the verbal altercation suddenly turned ugly. Richard punched O’Day in her face, and she was permanently removed from the trio. Richard has since moved on, and she recently released a solo project entitled Blackheart

It seems the remaining members of Danity Kane have moved on as well, and their new project is coming out next month. “We’re going to have a ton of content for our fans and really show them a new era and sound. We’ve been taking from the past, [and the project features] a lot of 70s and 80s references,” O’Day said on the red carpet. She added, “We’ll be bringing the old sounds into the future with current sounds of dance and alternative music.” O’Day stated that Dumblonde’s sound will be similar to The Ting Tings and La Roux, which will be representative of alternative dance music. 

Danity Kane’s debut self-titled album was released nine years ago. The project featured the hit singles, “Show Stopper” and “Ride for You.” Danity Kane entered the top of the Billboard 200 album charts, after selling over 230,000 copies in its first week. Danity Kane’s sophomore album, Welcome to the Dollhouse, also entered the Billboard 200 at Number 1. Danity Kane was the first female group in Billboard history to have two albums debut at Number 1 on the Billboard 200 charts. 

FDRMX Eyes: Plastic Man is a garage rock band comprised of three members. The trio has released a psychedelic music video entitled “North Polar Land.”

[jwplatform HYCKm2Ns-daFoP3nJ]