Grateful Dead Coming to Select Movie Theaters

Courtesy of moviespictures.org
Courtesy of moviespictures.org

The Grateful Dead‘s final three shows, taking place in Chicago, will broadcast live during Independence Day weekend. The band’s Fare Thee Well: Celebrating 50 Years of Grateful Dead will be shown live in select theaters on July 3rd through the 5th. The concert will be five-hours long, and the screenings will begin at 8pm Eastern standard time (7pm CST, 6pm MST, and 5pm PST). 

Fathom Events will distribute the farewell concert along with Peter Shapiro and Madison House. The movie theater tickets will go on sale May 4th on the Fathom Events’ website. The theater locations will also be listed on the website as well. The tickets prices will be determined by the local theaters in each city. “What Fathom and the cinemas offer is a feeling of community, shared interest, and energy. This is a trans-generational event,” CEO of Fathom Events John Rubey told Billboard magazine. 

Tickets for the farewell concert sold out within minutes, and more than 200,000 tickets were purchased. Stubhub were offering tickets to the concert for as much as $116,000 for three-day event. Even the “nose bleed” seats were being offered for over $1000 dollars. The Fare Thee Well: Celebrating 50 Years of Grateful Dead will be played at Soldier Field, which has a capacity of more than 60,000 people. Guitarist Trey Anastasio (Phish) will join the original Grateful Dead members Bill Kreutzmann, Mickey Hart (joined band in 1967), Phil Lesh, and Bob Weir. Two of the founding band members passed away; Ron McKernan died in 1973 and Jerry Garcia died in 1995. 

The Grateful Dead was formed in 1965, and the band’s first album was released in 1967. The rockers have dropped more than twenty studio albums, some of which include The Grateful Dead, Workingman’s Dead, Steal Your Face, Wake of the Flood, Shakedown Street, Go to Heaven, Dead Set, Dylan & the Dead, Without a Net, Go to Heaven, and Built to Last. The Grateful Dead implemented elements of folk, blues, rock, country, jazz and reggae into their music, and they have sold over thirty-five million albums.

In 2007, the band received a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award, and they were also inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1994. The rockers accumulated more than $280 million from their tours in the 1990s, which became the second-highest grossing tour of the decade.

FDRMX Eyes: Project Revival is a rock outfit from Tel Aviv, Israel. The band has released a music video for their song, “Pain.”

[jwplatform BBl72WIc-daFoP3nJ]

SHARE