Bon Iver Releases "Heavenly Father" for Zach Braff Film

Bon Iver Releases “Heavenly Father” for Zach Braff Film

Bon Iver and Zach BraffPhoto Courtesy of

Actor, director, and screenwriter Zach Braff is often quickly identified as the loveable goofy Dr. John Dorian on the hit sitcom “Scrubs,” but he’s also known for his 2004 comedy-drama film “Garden State.” Both projects contain particularly notable music thanks to Braff’s careful attention. Clearly, he knows how important the right music is to set the tone for a movie or show.

“The Garden State” introduced many people to the music of bands like Frou Frou, the Shins, and Simon & Garfunkel. Now Braff is working on the follow up for “The Garden State” with new project “Wish I Was Here,” with a soundtrack that also includes music from the Shins again, Cat Power, Paul Simon, and more. Music Supervisor Mary Ramos helped choose music for the new film, and around the time Braff asked singer-songwriter Justin Vernon, of Bon Iver, to write a new song, she flew to Wisconsin to screen a rough cut of the film for Justin Vernon and his brother Nate. She told NPR via email, that while they were working late in the brothers’ living room one night,

“They were enjoying it and laughing, but at a certain point, they just got quiet. When it was over, Justin started humming. We talked afterwards about the relationship between Zach’s character and his brother [Josh Gad], and Justin and Nate talked a little about their father — all the while Justin kept distractedly humming. Eventually, he sang out the words ‘heavenly father.’ Before I even left their house, Justin was recording the first version of the song in his downstairs studio. His inspiration was that immediate.”

The new song is titled “Heavenly Father,” of course, and premiered on NPR Monday, June 30th, 2014. Bon Iver has a second song on the soundtrack as well; “Holocene,” from the band’s 2011 self-titled album. The complete soundtrack is due to arrive July 15th (but you can pre-order it now if you’re dying to hear it), just three days before the movie is released on July 18th, 2014.

You can listen to “Heavenly Father” here. Below is a track listing of the soundtrack from “Wish I Was Here.”

1. The Shins – So Now What

2. Gary Jules – Broke Window

3. Radical Face – The Mute

4. Hozier – Cherry Wine (Live)

5. Bon Iver – Holocene

6. Badly Drawn Boy – The Shining

7. Jump Little Children – Mexico

8. Cat Power & Coldplay – Wish I Was Here

9. Allie Moss– Wait It Out

10. Paul Simon – The Obvious Child

11. Japanese Wallpaper – Breathe In (feat. Wafia)

12. Bon Iver – Heavenly Father

13. Aaron Embry – Raven’s Song

14. The Weepies – Mend

15. The Head and the Heart – No One To Let You Down


Written by