December's Most Anticipated Albums | PPcorn

December’s Most Anticipated Albums

December’s Most Anticipated Albums

Chris Stapleton, From A Room: Volume 2 (December 1)

The rise of country star Chris Stapleton came as a surprise to Nashville, which is still ears-deep in the bro country movement. Although Stapleton is not a radio staple, he is one of country’s biggest stars. From A Room: Volume 2 follows the companion album, which was released on May 5th.

The album, like Volume 1, has just nine tracks, many of which Stapleton has been singing on his most recent tour. He also pulled songs from his extensive back catalogue. Still, the album also features two cover songs, including opener “Millionaire,” and the song “Friendship,” which was memorably recorded by Pops Staples.

Stapleton is a soul singer who connects himself to the Outlaw Country movement of the 1970’s and such singers as Waylon Jennings.

The Faceless, In Becoming A Ghost (December 1)

Metal group The Faceless is dropping a new album, In Becoming a Ghost, after two years of occasionally releasing songs. The ten-track album includes a few of these previously released songs, like “Black Star” and “The Spiraling Void.” The group is essentially the alter ego of Michael Keene, and this album takes the band in a new direction with a new lineup. Power-players like Justin McKinney of the Zenith Passage and Chason Westmoreland of Burning the Masses pack a strong lineup.

The new album is a slightly more expressive version of death metal, and includes a Depeche Mode cover (“Shake the Disease”).

G-Eazy, The Beautiful & Damned (December 15)

G-Eazy is back with a star-studded double album and short film that will attempt to show different sides of his life. The album artwork shows the rapper covered in blood against a black background. G-Eazy said he intended for the album to be dark. His collaborators include, A$AP Rocky, Cardi B, E-40, Kehlani, Halsey, Charlie Puth and Anna of the North.

N.E.R.D. [The Neptunes], No_One Ever Really Dies (December 15)

The Neptunes return with their first album since 2010’s Nothing. The Pharrell Williams-led album already scored a Hot 100 hit with the single “Lemon,” featuring Rihanna. Kendrick Lamar, Gucci Mane, Andre 3000, Ed Sheeran, Wale, and Gucci Mane also guest-star on the album. This is the first studio effort from the trio of producers (including Shay Haley and Chad Hugo) in 10 years and anticipation is high.

Juicy J, Rubba Band Business: The Album (December 29)

American rapper Juicy J will release his fourth solo album, Rubba Band Business. Juicy J is best-known as one of the members of Three 6 Mafia. The new album follows up on the rapper’s acclaimed mixtape series, also called Rubba Band Business. Its first three singles include “No English,” “Ain’t Nothing” and “Flood Watch.” The album’s guest stars include ASAP Rocky, Ty Dolla Sign and Offset.

Juicy promises his fans that the album will include the same sound and themes as his Three 6 Mafia days, which includes songs celebrating getting money and having a good time. Whether any of the themes is updated with new insights is yet to be determined. He also dropped the Heavily Intoxicated mixtape in September.

Written by