The LA Lakers: 9 Things You Didn’t Know

The LA Lakers: 9 Things You Didn’t Know

The LA Lakers: 9 Things You Didn’t Know

The LA Lakers are beloved by many devoted fans, but even those fans might not be aware of some of these facts! To find out everything that there is to know about this legendary team, all you have to do is read along with our nine things that you didn’t know!

Number Nine: The Original Lakers

The Lakers basketball team emerged in 1946, although they went by a different name back then. The franchise was started by a Mr. C. King Boring under the name of the Detroit Gems. They played only a single season in the NBL before they were purchased by Ben Burger and Morris Chalfen, who moved them to Minneapolis and renamed them as the Vagabond Kings.

Number Eight: The Modern Name

The team finally attained the name “Lakers” after moving to Minnesota, and playing in the “Land of 10,000 Lakes”. Currently, the renowned team plays for Los Angeles in the Pacific Division of the National Basketball Association’s Western Conference.

Number Seven: Winning Numbers

Over the course of this franchise’s history, they have created a remarkable reputation with their successes. To date, they have played for three leagues: the NBL, the BAA, and the NBA. They have accumulated 16 league championships, 29 conference titles, and a whopping 31 division crowns.

Number Six: Hall of Famers

Over time, the Lakers have produced a large number of notable players who achieved greatness with induction into the Basketball Hall of Fame. The most notable of these great players are Abdul-Jabbar, Wilt Chamberlain, Karl Malone, and of course Magic Johnson.

Number Five: More Claims to Fame

In addition to championships and the Hall of Fame stars, the Lakers have sprouted four great players who have achieved the NBA Most Valuable Player award. Abdul-Jabbar won this title in 1976, 1977, and 1980, Magic Johnson in 1987, 1989, and 1990, Shaquille O’Neal in 2000, and Kobe Bryant in 2008.

Number Four: The Winning Streak

In all of NBA’s extensive history, the Lakers hold the title for the longest winning streak. In their 1971-1972 seasons, the team won an astonishing 33 games in a row.

Number Three: Retired Jerseys

Throughout the team’s history, they have retired only nine total jerseys to pay tribute to their greatest players. These players include Wilt Chamberlain (13), Elgin Baylor (22), Gail Goodrich (25), Magic Johnson (32), Abdul-Jabbar (33), Shaquille O’Neal (34), James Worthy (42), Jerry West (44), and Jamaal Wilkes (52).

Number Two: Lead Scoring

The Lakers have had a lot of legendary success in the NBA, including having a couple of the association’s lead scorers. The title of all-time lead scorer in the NBA, formerly held by Laker Wilt Chamberlain, was snatched up by Abdul-Jabbar in the April 5th game in the 1983-84 season. In this game, he scored his 31,420th point against Utah.

Number One: A Legendary Player

In 1991, Magic Johnson stunned the world with an announcement that made NBA history. After being diagnosed with the HIV virus, he announced that he would be retiring from the game. Despite this, he was named the 1992 NBA Most Valuable Player. Although, his retirement didn’t exactly end his basketball career. That same year, he played on the U.S. Dream Team, along with Larry Bird and Michael Jordan, in the Summer Olympics. We hope you enjoyed discovering the nine things you didn’t know about the L.A. Lakers!

Written by