Leon Russell Tours ‘Life Journey’ in Hawaii

Leon Russell Tours ‘Life Journey’ in Hawaii

Leon Russell Tours ‘Life Journey’ in Hawaii

Leon Russell NewsCourtesy of billboard.com

Legendary session pianist Leon Russell is returning to Hawaii again, this time to play several shows as a part of his Life Journey tour in support of his latest release from Universal Music recorded at Capitol Studios. Life Journey features both fresh originals like bluesy tune “Big Lips” and classic renditions of some old standards, such as Ray Charles’ “Georgia on My Mind” and Billy Joel’s “New York State of Mind.” The last time Russell was in Hawaii was September of last year (2013), when he managed to hit three of the islands right after his Union tour with Elton John, who also happened to produce Life Journey. Last year, Russell played Maui on September 26th, the Big Island on the 27th, and Oahu on the 28th, at a timeless venue called Crossroads at Hawaiian Brian’s. Local Hawaii rock band Mano Kane opened for Leon Russell last year, playing a mix of harmony-filled rock originals and classic 60’s rock covers. There’s no word yet on who will be opening for the iconic session player this time around, so fans of the Hawaii local music scene will have to sit tight.  

This year, Lazar Bear & Aloha Beer Company will present Russell at the Castle Theater in Maui Arts and Cultural Center on Wednesday, September 17th. He will then move on to to Oahu, to play at one of the island’s largest venues, The Republik, on Thursday, September 18th. Russell will then migrate to the Big Island, playing in Hilo on Friday the 19th at the Wainaku Center, and in Kona on Saturday the 20th at the Sheraton Kona Resort and Spa at Keauhou Bay. This trek to the land of aloha is something worth noting, as Russell has been entertaining the world for over fifty years and at the age of seventy-two, is still touring many months out of the year. In March of 2011, he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and into the Songwriter’s Hall of Fame the following June. Find out more about the Hawaii portion of the Life Journey tour and purchase tickets here. View the tracklist for the new album on FDRMX below. Find about more on Leon Russell and purchase his newest album here.

Tracklist for Life Journey:

1. Come On In My Kitchen
2. Big Lips
3. Georgia On My Mind
4. That Lucky Old Sun
5. Fever
6. Think Of Me
7. I Got It Bad & That Ain’t Good
8. The Masquerade Is Over
9. I Really Miss You
10. New York State Of Mind
11. Fool’s Paradise
12. Down In Dixieland

Written by