Radio Disney Awards: Winners and Performances

Radio Disney Awards: Winners and Performances

The Radio Disney Awards took place in Los Angeles last night at the Nokia Theatre. The event was hosted by singer-actress Zendaya, who unfortunately lost the Artist with the Best Style award to Becky G. Becky G also won Catchiest New Song for her “Shower” single. Ariana Grande walked away with three awards including Best Female Artist, Song of the Year for “Problem” featuring Iggy Azalea, and Radio Disney’s Most Talked About Artist. Ed Sheeran was named Best Male Artist, Fifth Harmony won Best Music Group, and Charli XCX was named Best New Artist. The award for Fiercest Fans went to Fifth Harmony’s Harmonizers, who beat out One Directions’ Directioners, and R5’s R5Family.

The other winners of the night include Demi Lovato and Cher Lloyd winning the Best Collaboration award for “Really Don’t Care,” Selena Gomez’s “The Heart Wants What It Wants” won Best Breakup Song, Sabrina Carpenter was awarded Best Crush Song for “Can’t Blame a Girl for Trying,” Best Song to Rock Out to With Your BFF was awarded to Bea Miller for “Young Blood,” Maroon 5’s “Sugar” won Best Song That Makes You Smile, and Taylor Swift’s “Shake It Off” won Best Song to Dance To. Jennifer Lopez received the Hero Award, which recognized her work with the Boys & Girls Clubs of America and the pop singer’s contribution to the Lopez Family Foundation. Lopez posted a photo of herself backstage with Nick Jonas after receiving the Hero Award. “Thank you Radio Disney! I am truly honored,” she wrote on Instagram.

The Radio Disney Awards would have not been complete without the performances, and the artists who hit the stage did not disappoint the audience. The artists who performed at the awards show last night include Fifth Harmony, Nick Jonas, Becky G, R5, Shawn Mendes, Sheppard, Tori Kelly, and Sabrina Carpenter. Shawn Mendes currently has the Number 1 album on the Billboard 200. The singer’s Handwritten sold over 100,000 copies in its debut week, and topped the US albums chart. Mendes is the youngest artist since Justin Bieber to peak at Number 1 on the Billboard 200. The Radio Disney Awards will air tonight on the Disney channel at 8pm (Eastern standard time).

FDRMX Eyes: Pacovolume is a French Indie Rock artist from Paris. Check out his video “Cookie Machine.”

[jwplatform GmR4NfRO-daFoP3nJ]

Written by
Brillion Williams is an avid entertainment writer, particularly in the realm of music, sports, television, and film. Williams first started writing professionally as the founder and editor of Brillion-A-Million.